The Changing Seasons

It has been quite a while since I’ve updated you all on my journey’s progress. Unfortunately, this is because there has not been quite as much progress as I had hoped. I had originally planned to, by now, have established myself in a freelance community, and to have several jobs under my belt by now.

This hasn’t happened. Work cut my hours for a while, so there was a period of angry sulking. Then, they added more. A lot more. And then my manager asked me to go full-time, which made me both very happy and very nervous.

Many of my coworkers have talked about how they had plans while working part-time, to just get enough money to move on. Then, they went full time and just gave up on other plans, because it was paying the bills and gave them health benefits.

I’m worried that, between a lack of time to even try to develop another career path, and the security of knowing that I will get another paycheck every week, my dream will fall by the side of the proverbial road.

Fall is upon us, and the colder weather is making me want to flee to Texas. The urge to leave is keeping my hope alive, but my current roommate is also proposing just moving to Oregon when this lease is up–the same time I’d hoped to get on the road. Maybe that would be change enough for now? Maybe not.

All I know at the moment, is that I’m having very difficult lessons forced upon me with regards to life and making choices. I still have time, and it’s still possible, but can I give up the stability of knowing where my next paycheck will come from, for the freedom of the road?

About lifetheuniverseandblogs

Good afternoon, and welcome to my little suite of blogs. I am a foodie, a fashionista, a penny-pincher, and a world traveller. I am everything you want, I am everything you need, I am everything inside of you that you wish you could be. I say all the right things at exactly the right time, but I mean--well. Nevermind, actually. I'm just awesome, so get over it. J/K LOL WTFBBQ.
This entry was posted in Making Plans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

