A Sobering Look At The Challenges I Will Face

While her post was primarily about making a living in music, Charlotte Hothar linked a very good article from The Guardian about the problems we know are facing workers, creative and technical, and the economy worldwide. While the Guardian’s focus in the article was on Europe, I know that this is also an issue in the US. I will confess to having worked for free, several times, and usually with no actual profit for me in either experience or references. It’s frustrating, especially when you are already crunched for time and money, between school and part-time work, but I believed everything that said, “Do free work for experience” and promises that, “You can use it for your portfolio.” It’s not the fault of the free-workers, usually. They want just as badly to make money, but they’re told there’s no other way at first.

I knew from the beginning of my journey that this was going to be hard. I’m pretty sure everyone whom I’ve told, is just humoring me when they say, “You can do it!” Articles like this make me nervous, yes, but I absolutely cannot let fear stop me from trying. Jump feet-first into the deep end, and if I have to move back home, so be it. I don’t do things by halves, so I won’t give up on this, either. That’s exactly why I’m starting now, but it’s also why I don’t have a fall back plan. You can’t give 100% if you know there’s an easier alternative.

About lifetheuniverseandblogs

Good afternoon, and welcome to my little suite of blogs. I am a foodie, a fashionista, a penny-pincher, and a world traveller. I am everything you want, I am everything you need, I am everything inside of you that you wish you could be. I say all the right things at exactly the right time, but I mean--well. Nevermind, actually. I'm just awesome, so get over it. J/K LOL WTFBBQ.
This entry was posted in Making Plans and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sobering Look At The Challenges I Will Face

  1. Best luck with everything you do. Keep positive and enjoy the journey πŸ™‚

    warmest wishes
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

