The Frivolity of Expedition

Honestly, I just wanted to use the word ‘frivolity’ today. However, it’s well related to an idea I had: I’m taking off to see America, to travel and live life. It’s supposed to be fun. I’ve heard a couple of songs in recent days that make me think, ‘yeah, that’s why I’m going!’

One of my side-missions over the next few months will be to come up with a mix-tape (I might actually put it on cassette–I’ve got a tape deck in my car) for the first time I venture forth into the world, with the pavement under my tires and a trailer at my back. The idea may seen quaint, but I’m going to be logging a lot of hours with nobody but Pink Floyd, Toby Keith, Kesha and Rhianna for company–may as well get started on the right foot with them!

The order will be important, but for now just a few titles that will likely go on it:

  • Turn the Page – Bob Seger
  • Life is a Highway – Tom Chochrane
  • I  Can’t Drive 55 – Tommy Hagar
  • Run – Pink
  • Speed – Montgomery Gentry
  • Here’s To Never Growing Up – Avril Lavigne
  • Take A Back Road – Rodney Atkins

The trick will be putting them in order! My music tastes are all over the place, so this will be a lot of fun putting together a playlist. I’ll have my Pandora stations to keep me company when I’m in 4G range, sure, but CDs and cassettes will have to come along for the back roads and far-out spots where radio stations and internet are sparse. Time to start trawling thrift stores for $.25 tapes!

About lifetheuniverseandblogs

Good afternoon, and welcome to my little suite of blogs. I am a foodie, a fashionista, a penny-pincher, and a world traveller. I am everything you want, I am everything you need, I am everything inside of you that you wish you could be. I say all the right things at exactly the right time, but I mean--well. Nevermind, actually. I'm just awesome, so get over it. J/K LOL WTFBBQ.
This entry was posted in Making Plans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

